Governing Body for Staff at the University of Kansas

Staff Senate Members 2020 - 2021


The Staff Senate is formed to facilitate greater involvement of staff (both unclassified and university support staff) in the university community, and to ensure that the opinions of staff inform the creation and implementation of university policies. Toward those ends, the Staff Senate serves as a forum for discussion among all university staff and as an advocate for staff interests with other governance bodies, the university administration, and the state Board of Regents.

The senators, each having one vote in the Senate, shall be elected by the members of the electorate. To ensure fair representation of all staff, the electorate shall be divided into eight categories representing the major divisions of work responsibilities across campus. The categorization of staff shall be accomplished by means of job families* designated by Human Resource Management.

Category Constituent Job Families
Academic Educational Support & Delivery
Administrative Administrative Support
Para-Professional/Professional
Information Technology Information Technology
Operations Facilities Planning, Design & Operation, Skilled Trades,
Campus Srvs/Service Maint.
Research Research
Student Services Advising, Career & Student Services
Support Food Service and Dietary,  Healthcare
Library Services, Museum / Arts
Public Affairs, Public Safety
Publishing, TV, Radio & Video Production
Administrative/Management

Administrative/Management

Staff Senate FY2021 Membership 
Name Email Department Family Term Ends
Staff Senate President:
Abby Ehling
aehling@ku.edu  Graduate Studies Staff Senate President 4/22
Staff Senate President Elect: 
Tim Spencer
timspencer@ku.edu  O'Leary SSC Staff Senate President-Elect 4/22
         
Academic - 4 Senators        
Ben Herron bherron2@ku.edu Student Success and Support, Edwards Campus Academic 4/23
Amber Roberts Graham  amberts@ku.edu Graduate Studies Academic 4/21
Liz Barton bartonliz@ku.edu ABS Master's Online | Public Administration and Law & Society Programs, Edwards Campus Academic 4/22
Tiffany Learned tlearned@ku.edu International Student Services Academic 4/22
         
Administrative - 6 Senators        
Kelly Banks kgibhawk@ku.edu Spencer Museum of Art Administrative 4/23
Mary Murphy memurphy@ku.edu Ctr for Online & Distance Lrn Administrative 4/21
Teri Chambers tchambers@ku.edu Acad Achieve & Access Ctr-AAAC Administrative 4/21
Travis Arellano tarellan@ku.edu Business Administration Administrative 4/21
*Elissa Stewart erstewart@ku.edu Eaton Hall SSC Member At Large (Administrative) 4/21
Leslie Wilson, A leslieqilson@ku.edu  Undergraduate Advising Center Administrative 4/22
         
Administrative/Management- 9 Senators      
Cady Bush cbush@ku.edu Higuchi  Biosciences Centers Administrative/Management 4/23
Aaron Quisenberry AQUIZ@ku.edu Transportation Services Administrative/Management 4/23
Robert Waller rwaller@ku.edu Budget Office Administrative/Management 4/23
Jui-Shen Wang j322w659@ku.edu School of Pharmacy Administrative/Management 4/23
Connie Jordan cjordan10@ku.edu O'Leary SSC Administrative/Management 4/21
Jena Gunter kujena@ku.edu Inst for Policy & Social Res Administrative/Management 4/21
Jessica Chilcoat thornjes@ku.edu  Strong Hall SSC Administrative/Management 4/22
Michelle Ginavan Hayes mginavan@ku.edu  Eaton Hall SSC Administrative/Management 4/22
Jeff Severin jseverin@ku.edu  Center for Sustainability Administrative/Management 4/22
         
Information Technology-4 Senators      
Elvi Freudenhammer elvi.freudenhammer@ku.edu Information Technology Information Technology 4/23
Matthew Deakyne mdeakyne@ku.edu  Information Technology Information Technology 4/22
Rick Evanhoe rpe@ku.edu  Information Technology Information Technology 4/22
Lisa Hallberg hallberg@ku.edu  Life Span Institute Information Technology 4/22
         
Operations-5 Senators        
Josh La Tour c041l866@ku.edu FS Maintenance Operations 4/21
Jessica Brown jjbrown@ku.edu  Facility Services Operations 4/22
Jeremy Chance jmchance@ku.edu  Recreation Services Operations 4/22
Steve Conway s913c000@ku.edu  Facility Services Operations 4/22
Chris Wallace ewallace@ku.edu  Public Safety Operations 4/22
         
Research - 7 Senators        
Lindsay Elliot Jorgenson lelliott@ku.edu Institute for Policy & Social Research Research 4/23
Nathan Garza nathan.garza@ku.edu Medicinal Chemistry Research 4/23
Jennifer Hollenbach jraney@ku.edu Kansas Geological Survey Research 4/23
Kevin Liu gkliu@ku.edu Graduate Affairs Research 4/22
Azure Pellegrino azure.pellegrino@ku.edu SES & STEM Research 4/22
Christopher Lyon lyon@ku.edu Ctr Enviro Beneficial Catalysis Research 4/22
Kajsa Elizabeth Mullenix k831m691@ku.edu Bureau of Child Research Research 4/22
         
Student Services - 3 Senators      
*Bryanna Hanschu bryanna.hanschu@ku.edu Law  Student Services 4/21
Megan Belaire mbelaire@ku.edu CLAS Student Services 4/22
Michelle Wilson michellewilson@ku.edu Achievement & Assessment Inst Student Services 4/22
         
Support - 6 Senators        
Todd Carpenter tcarpent@ku.edu Public Safety Support 4/23
Justin Runge justinrunge@ku.edu Marketing Communications Support 4/23
Kim Spencer kimspencer@ku.edu Lied Center Support 4/23
David Day davidday@ku.edu Provost Office Support 4/21
Mary Dykmann mdykmann@ku.edu  Business Development Support 4/22
Brian Moss bdmoss@ku.edu  Libraries Support 4/22
Total Staff Senators:       44
*Members at-large        

 


Click to join our staff group page


Find us on Facebook

Staff Senate Calendar

KU Today
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
—ALA
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times