Governing Body for Staff at the University of Kansas

Executive Committee

The Senate Executive Committee shall consist of up to 24 members, with eleven voting members. The Senate President, President-Elect, Senate Secretary, Senate Treasurer, the Technology Officer and chairs of the standing committees shall be voting positions. Individuals serving as Secretary-Elect, Treasurer-Elect, or Chair-Elect shall vote only in the absence of the Secretary, Treasurer, or appropriate Chair.


                                               

Representatives of Human Resources and the Faculty and Student Senates shall be ex-officio, non-voting members. The representatives of the USS Council and the UPS Council shall be ex-officio, non-voting members.

Officers and Chairs

The President of the Staff Senate presides over Senate meetings and acts as the official representative of the Senate. The person elected to the President-Elect position serves one year in that position, one year as President, and one year as Past President.

Staff Senate President
Jessica Chilcoat, jchilcoat@ku.edu, Office of Research
 
Staff Senate President-Elect
Chris Wallace, ewallace@ku.edu, Operations Business Office

Secretary
Deanne Arensberg, dgarens@ku.edu, Office of Research
Secretary-Elect: DesirĂ©e Neyens, dneyens@ku.edu, University Academic Support Ct

Treasurer
Chair: Kim Conard, kim.conard@ku.edu
Chair-Elect: Trina Collins, ljcollins@ku.edu

Diversity & Inclusion Committee
Chair: Marissa Marshall, marissa.marshall@ku.edu, Film and Media Studies
Chair-Elect: Scott Cossel, scossel@ku.edu, Libraries

Elections Committee
Chair: Jessica Brown, jjbrown@ku.edu, Custodial Services 
Chair-Elect: Kevin Liu, gkliu@ku.edu

Legislative Affairs Committee
Chair: Ryan Edmonds, ryanpedmonds@ku.edu, Ctr Orientation Transition Prg
Chair-Elect: 

Personnel Affairs Committee
Chair: Todd Carpenter, tcarpent@ku.edu, Public Safety Office
Chair-Elect: Michelle Wilson, michellewilson@ku.edu, Achievement & Assessment Inst. 

Professional Development Committee
Chair: Kelly Banks, klbanks@ku.edu, Spencer Museum of Art
Chair-Elect: 

Public Relations Committee
Chair: Justin Runge, justinrunge@ku.edu, Marketing Communications
Chair-Elect: 

Technology
Chair: Scott Cossel, scossel@ku.edu, Libraries

USS Council Representative
Chris Wallace, ewallace@ku.edu, Public Safety Office

UPS Council Representative
Brian Moss, bdmoss@ku.edu, Libraries

University SenEx Representative
Teri Chambers, tmchambers@ku.edu, Biodiversity Institute

University Senate Representatives

Todd Carpenter 
Teri Chambers
Liz Barton
Robert Waller
Mary Dykmann
Brian Moss
Ryan Edmonds
Sarah Merriman
Scott Cossel
Kim Conard
Jeremy McLeod
Chris Wallace

 


Click to join our staff group page


Find us on Facebook

Staff Senate Calendar

KU Today
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
—ALA
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times