Governing Body for Staff at the University of Kansas

Staff Senate Members 2021-2022

The Staff Senate is formed to facilitate greater involvement of staff (both unclassified and university support staff) in the university community, and to ensure that the opinions of staff inform the creation and implementation of university policies. Toward those ends, the Staff Senate serves as a forum for discussion among all university staff and as an advocate for staff interests with other governance bodies, the university administration, and the state Board of Regents.

The senators, each having one vote in the Senate, shall be elected by the members of the electorate. To ensure fair representation of all staff, the electorate shall be divided into eight categories representing the major divisions of work responsibilities across campus. The categorization of staff shall be accomplished by means of job families.  To find what category your job title falls under, plese see:  Job Families are designated by Human Resource Management.

Category Constituent Job Families
Academic Educational Support & Delivery
Administrative Administrative Support
Information Technology Information Technology
Operations Facilities Planning, Design & Operation, Skilled Trades,
Campus Srvs/Service Maint.
Research Research
Student Services Advising, Career & Student Services
Support Food Service and Dietary,  Healthcare
Library Services, Museum / Arts
Public Affairs, Public Safety
Publishing, TV, Radio & Video Production


President Tim Spencer SSC Manager 22-Apr
President-Elect Jessica Chilcoat O'Leary SSC 22-Apr
Academic -  4 Senators        
Liz Barton ABS Master's Online | Public Administration and Law & Society Programs, Edwards Campus Academic 22-Apr
Tiffany Learned International Student Services Academic 22-Apr
Ben Herron Student Success and Support, Edwards Campus Academic 23-Apr
Tiphani Dixon Study Abroad and Global Engmt Academic 24-Apr
Administrative-6 Senators        
Kelly Banks Spencer Museum of Art Administrative 23-Apr
Leslie Wilson Centers for Orientation and Academic Advising Programs Administrative 22-Apr
Deanne Arensberg dgarens Office of Research Administrative 24-Apr
Teri Chambers tmchambers Biodiversity Institute Administrative 24-Apr
Marissa Marshall Film and Media Studies Administrative 24-Apr
Mary Murphy Ctr for Online & Distance Lrn Administrative 24-Apr
Administrative/Management-9 Senators        
Cady Bush Higuchi  Biosciences Centers Administrative/Management 23-Apr
Aaron Quisenberry Transportation Services Administrative/Management 23-Apr
Robert Waller Budget Office Administrative/Management 23-Apr
Jui-Shen Wang School of Pharmacy Administrative/Management 23-Apr
Michelle Ginavan Hayes Eaton Hall SSC Administrative/Management 22-Apr
Monica Bradshaw Human Resource Management Administrative/Management 24-Apr
Kim Conard OLeary SSC Administrative/Management 24-Apr
Jena Gunter Institute for Policy & Social Research Administrative/Management 24-Apr
Information Technology-4 Senators        
Elvi Freudenhammer Information Technology Information Technology 23-Apr
Matthew Deakyne Information Technology Information Technology 22-Apr
Rick Evanhoe Information Technology Information Technology 22-Apr
Lisa Hallberg Life Span Institute Information Technology 22-Apr
Operations-5 Senators        
Jessica Brown Facility Services Operations 22-Apr
Jeremy Chance Recreation Services Operations 22-Apr
Steve Conway Facility Services Operations 22-Apr
Chris Wallace Public Safety Operations 22-Apr
Emily Foltz Lanscape Operations 24-Apr
Research-7 Senators        
Lindsay Elliot Jorgenson Institute for Policy & Social Research Research 23-Apr
Jennifer Hollenbach Kansas Geological Survey Research 23-Apr
Kevin Liu Achievement & Assessment Institute Research 22-Apr
Christopher Lyon Ctr Enviro Beneficial Catalysis Research 22-Apr
Kajsa Elizabeth Mullenix Bureau of Child Research Research 22-Apr
Aaron Baumgardner KS Applied Remote Sensing Program Research 24-Apr
Nikhila Gunda Transportation Research Center Research 24-Apr
Student Services-3 Senators        
Michelle Wilson Achievement & Assessment Inst Student Services 22-Apr
Jordan Wade Student Program Manager Student Services  24-Apr
Caitlin Alvarez Academic Advisor Student Services 24-Feb
Support-6 Senators        
Todd Carpenter Public Safety Support 23-Apr
Justin Runge Marketing Communications Support 23-Apr
Kim Spencer Lied Center Support 23-Apr
Mary Dykmann Business Development Support 22-Apr
Brian Moss Libraries Support 22-Apr
Haines Eason Communications Coordinator Support 24-Apr
Total Staff Senators:        
Members at-large        


Click to join our staff group page

Find us on Facebook

Staff Senate Calendar

KU Today
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times