Governing Body for Staff at the University of Kansas

Senate Members


The Staff Senate is formed to facilitate greater involvement of staff (both unclassified and university support staff) in the university community, and to ensure that the opinions of staff inform the creation and implementation of university policies. Toward those ends, the Staff Senate serves as a forum for discussion among all university staff and as an advocate for staff interests with other governance bodies, the university administration, and the state Board of Regents.

The senators, each having one vote in the Senate, shall be elected by the members of the electorate. To ensure fair representation of all staff, the electorate shall be divided into eight categories representing the major divisions of work responsibilities across campus. The categorization of staff shall be accomplished by means of job families* designated by Human Resource Management.

Category Constituent Job Families
Academic Educational Support & Delivery
Administrative Administrative Support
Para-Professional/Professional
Information Technology Information Technology
Operations Facilities Planning, Design & Operation, Skilled Trades,
Campus Srvs/Service Maint.
Research Research
Student Services Advising, Career & Student Services
Support Food Service and Dietary,  Healthcare
Library Services, Museum / Arts
Public Affairs, Public Safety
Publishing, TV, Radio & Video Production
Administrative/Management

Administrative/Management

Name Email Department Family Term Ends
Staff Senate President:
Robert Waller
rawaller@ku.edu Budget Office Staff Senate President-Elect 4/20
Staff Senate Presdent Elect:
Abby Ehling
aehling@ku.edu  Graduate Studies Academic 4/22
         
Academic - 4 Senators        
Holly Shriner hshriner@ku.edu  Graduate Studies Academic 4/20
Samantha Montague smontag@ku.edu CLAS Academic 4/21
Justin Johnson justin.johnson@ku.edu  Physics and Astronomy Academic 4/22
Tiffany Learned tlearned@ku.edu  International Student Services Academic 4/22
         
Administrative - 7 Senators        
Melody Henning mhenning@ku.edu Ctr for Online & Distance Lrn Administrative 4/20
Mary Murphy memurphy@ku.edu Ctr for Online & Distance Lrn Administrative 4/21
Teri Chambers tchambers@ku.edu Acad Achieve & Access Ctr-AAAC Administrative 4/21
Travis Arellano tarellan@ku.edu Business Administration Administrative 4/21
*Susan Shaw scshaw@ku.edu Parking & Transit Member At Large (Administrative)  4/20
*Elissa Stewart erstewart@ku.edu Eaton Hall SSC Member At Large (Administrative) 4/21
Leslie Wilson, A lesliewilson@ku.edu  Undergraduate Advising Center Administrative 4/22
         
Administrative/Management- 8 Senators        
Annette Delaney adelaney@ku.edu Kansas Geological Survey Administrative/Management 4/20
Jane Tuttle jtuttle@ku.edu Student Affairs Administrative/Management 4/20
Connie Jordan cjordan10@ku.edu O'Leary SSC Administrative/Management 4/21
Jessica Webb jessicawebb@ku.edu Human Resources Administrative/Management 4/21
Jessica Chilcoat thornjes@ku.edu  Strong Hall SSC Administrative/Management 4/22
Michelle Ginavan Hayes mginavan@ku.edu  Eaton Hall SSC Administrative/Management 4/22
Jeff Severin jseverin@ku.edu  Center for Sustainability Administrative/Management 4/22
Tim Spencer SPENCE37@ku.edu  Eaton Hall SSC Administrative/Management 4/22
         
Information Technology-4 Senators        
Adam Braun adam.braun@ku.edu Information Technology Information Technology 4/20
Matthew Deakyne mdeakyne@ku.edu  Information Technology Information Technology 4/22
Rick Evanhoe RPE@ku.edu  Information Technology Information Technology 4/22
Lisa Hallberg hallberg@ku.edu  Life Span Institute Information Technology 4/22
         
Operations-5 Senators        
Charlotte Goodman cdj@ku.edu FS Custodial Operations 4/21
Jessica Brown jjbrown@ku.edu  Facility Services Operations 4/22
Jeremy Chance jmchance@ku.edu  Recreation Services Operations 4/22
Steve Conway s913c000@ku.edu  Facility Services Operations 4/22
Chris Wallace ewallace@ku.edu  Public Safety Operations 4/22
         
Research - 7 Senators        
Ranu Pal ranupal@ku.edu Higuchi Biosciences Center Research 4/20
Katherine Merriweather k882m602@ku.edu Achievement & Assessment Inst Research 4/21
Tanya Spacek tanya.spacek@ku.edu Achievement & Assessment Inst Research 4/21
Kevin Liu gkliu@ku.edu Graduate Affairs Research 4/22
Azure Pellegrino azure.pellegrino@ku.edu SES & STEM Research 4/22
Christopher Lyon lyon@ku.edu Ctr Enviro Benefical Catalysis Research 4/22
Kajsa Elizabeth Mullenix kmullenix@ku.edu Bureau of Child Research Research 4/22
         
Student Services - 3 Senators        
John Nelson-Hronek nelsonhronek@ku.edu Undergraduate Advising Ctr. Student Services 4/21
Megan Belaire, Academic Advisor, mbelaire@ku.edu CLAS Student Services 4/22
Michelle Wilson, Student Program michellewilson@ku.edu Achievement & Assessment Inst Student Services 4/22
         
Support - 6 Senators        
Kimberly Spencer kimspencer@ku.edu Lied Center Support 4/20
Todd Carpenter tcarpent@ku.edu Office Public Saftey Support 4/20
David Day davidday@ku.edu Provost Office Support 4/21
Angela Andres andresa@ku.edu  Libraries Support 4/22
Mary Dykmann mdykmann@ku.edu  Business Development Support 4/22
Brian Moss bdmoss@ku.edu  Libraries Support 4/22

 


Click to join our staff group page


Find us on Facebook

Staff Senate Calendar

KU Today
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
—ALA
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times