Governing Body for Staff at the University of Kansas

Staff Senate Members 2022-2023


 

The Staff Senate is formed to facilitate greater involvement of staff (both unclassified and university support staff) in the university community, and to ensure that the opinions of staff inform the creation and implementation of university policies. Toward those ends, the Staff Senate serves as a forum for discussion among all university staff and as an advocate for staff interests with other governance bodies, the university administration, and the state Board of Regents.

The senators, each having one vote in the Senate, shall be elected by the members of the electorate. To ensure fair representation of all staff, the electorate shall be divided into eight categories representing the major divisions of work responsibilities across campus. The categorization of staff shall be accomplished by means of job families.  To find what category your job title falls under, plese see: http://humanresources.ku.edu/job-title-table-view.  Job Families are designated by Human Resource Management.

Category Constituent Job Families
Academic Educational Support & Delivery
Administrative Administrative Support
Para-Professional/Professional
Information Technology Information Technology
Operations Facilities Planning, Design & Operation, Skilled Trades,
Campus Srvs/Service Maint.
Research Research
Student Services Advising, Career & Student Services
Support Food Service and Dietary,  Healthcare
Library Services, Museum / Arts
Public Affairs, Public Safety
Publishing, TV, Radio & Video Production
Administrative/Management

Administrative/Management

 

Email Name Unit Category Term
  FY2023 President      
jchilcoat@ku.edu Jessica Chilcoat O'Leary SSC FY2023 President 25-Apr
  FY2023 President-Elect      
ewallace@ku.edu Chris Wallace Operations FY2023 President-Elect-USS 25-Apr
4 Senators Academic      
bartonliz@ku.edu Liz Barton Academic Success Academic 25-Apr
ryanpedmonds@ku.edu Ryan Edmonds Ctr Orientation Transition Prg Academic 25-Apr
dneyens@ku.edu Desiree Neyens University Academic Support Ct Academic 25-Apr
michellewilson@ku.edu Michelle Wilson Achievement & Assessment Inst Academic 25-Apr
6 Senators Administrative      
dgarens@ku.edu Deanne Arensberg Office of Research Administrative 24-Apr
klbanks@ku.edu Kelly Banks Spencer Museum of Art Administrative 23-Apr
tchambers@ku.edu Teri Chambers Biodiversity Institute Administrative 24-Apr
marissa.marshall@ku.edu Marissa Marshall Film and Media Studies Administrative 24-Apr
memurphy@ku.edu Mary Murphy Ctr for Online & Distance Lrn Administrative 24-Apr
lesliewilson@ku.edu Leslie Wilson Undergraduate Advising Ctr. Administrative 25-Apr
9 Senators Administrative/Management      
cbush@ku.edu Cady Bush Higuchi  Biosciences Centers Administrative/MGMT 24-Apr
kim.conard@ku.edu Kim Conard KUCR - AMS Team Administrative/MGMT 24-Apr
kujena@ku.edu Jena Gunter Institute for Policy & Social Research Administrative/MGMT 24-Apr
AQUIZ@ku.edu Aaron Quisenberry Transportation Services Administrative/MGMT 24-Apr
rawaller@ku.edu Robert Waller Budget Office Administrative/MGMT 24-Apr
wangjuisheng@ku.edu Jui-Shen Wang School of Pharmacy Administrative/MGMT 24-Apr
ljcollins@ku.edu Latrina Collins Achievement & Assessment Inst Administrative/MGMT 25-Apr
scossel@ku.edu *Scott Cossel Libraries At-large 23-Apr
swmerriman@ku.edu *Sarah Wilson Merriman University Academic Support Ct At-large 23-Apr
4-Senators Information Technology      
jmcleod@ku.edu Jeremy McLeod Information Technology Information Technology 25-Apr
leslie.soden@ku.edu Leslie Soden Information Technology Information Technology 25-Apr
mforee@ku.edu *Melissa Foree CLAS-Academic Advisor At-large 23-Apr
allanjackson@ku.edu *Allan Jackson Information Technology Information Technology-At Large 23-Apr
         
4-Senators Operations      
jjbrown@ku.edu Jessica Brown Custodial Services Operations-UPS 25-Apr
efoltz@ku.edu Emily Foltz Landscape Operations-USS 24-Apr
  TBD      
  TBD      
8-Senators Research      
jeandrew@ku.edu Joseph Andrew Geology Research  
gundanikhila@ku.edu Nikhila Gunda Transportation Research Center Research 24-Apr
lelliott@ku.edu Lindsay Elliot Jorgenson Institute for Policy & Social Research Research 23-Apr
gkliu@ku.edu Kevin Liu Achievement & Assessment Institute Research 25-Apr
k.wegley@ku.edu *Kayla Wegley Physics and Astronomy At-large 23-Apr
tjhurtado2@ku.edu *Terri Hurtado Eaton Hall, SSC At-large 23-Apr
ekg@ku.edu *Erin Kelley-Garrison Undergraduate Biology Program-Academic Advisor At-large 23-Apr
  TBD      
3-Senators Student Services      
abalmilero@ku.edu Anna Balmilero Academic Advisor Student Services 24-Apr
schavez1@ku.edu Sara Chavez Student Affairs Student Services 25-Apr
jordanwade@ku.edu Jordan Wade Student Program Manager Student Services  24-Apr
5-Senators SUPPORT      
tcarpent@ku.edu Todd Carpenter Public Safety Support-USS 23-Apr
davidday@ku.edu David Day Provost Office Support 24-Apr
mdykmann@ku.edu Mary Dykmann Business Development Support 25-Apr
bdmoss@ku.edu Brian Moss Libraries Support 25-Apr
justinrunge@ku.edu Justin Runge Marketing Communications Support 23-Apr
  * At-large, serving one year term.      

Click to join our staff group page


Find us on Facebook

Staff Senate Calendar

KU Today
One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
—ALA
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times